Ben To Release New Album - JUNE 27

Layers Cover Small.jpg

On June 27, 2017 bassist/composer/producer Ben Allison will release Layers of the City, his 12th album of original music and the second to be released on his label Sonic Camera Records.

The album features his band Think Free, which is comprised of some of New York’s most creative improvising musicians, including Jeremy Pelt (trumpet), Steve Cardenas (guitar), Frank Kimbrough (piano), Allan Mednard (drums). Ben plays acoustic bass and, for the first time on record, electric bass.

“Layers of the City is a title that has a lot of meaning for me,” said Ben. “The ‘City’ in this case is New York, my home, where my parents were born, and where their parents arrived as immigrants. The people who live here are from everywhere. The layers of the city are reflected in the grime and uneven slope of old tenement buildings, the gleam and perfect angles of modern glass structures, the makeshift and the honed, the worn out and the state of the art, and everything in between. These juxtapositions, coupled with the cultural diversity of NYC produces a unique kind of energy and vitality. This is why I live here.”

Watch a video of the band playing Layers of the City

The album contains all original compositions by Ben, including four new compositions, two re imagined older tunes and, as with all of his releases, a freely-improvised piece.

Production was funded entirely through crowdfunding and pre-sales of the album.

Layers of the City will be available world-wide through iTunes, Amazon and